The importance of having Faith

Standard

The other night,  I had a conversation with my devout Catholic father about why more young people were not involved in the church. He initially pointed to video games and movies and the rush of our modern day lives. The more we talked and the more I thought about it the more I kept thinking about how lonely it can be in your 20’s. 

When our parents were our age they had the house, the kids, the family near by because no one ever left, and the worship or school community where they could commiserate with other burnt out parents. Despite the flaws of religious institutions and the harm many have inflicted on members of the community, nothing has the gathering force of a well supported place of worship. In all of these ways it was less common for our parents to experience feelings of isolation and lonliness, because they had no choice but to be surrounded by the nosy neighbors or the very involved community members.

While I loved living in Pittsburgh, feeling close to a community was what I was missing. This whole time that I’ve been in Florida I’ve taken notice of how being home is not as suffocating as it used to be or as restricting. Going out of my comfort zone is what I needed at the time. I needed to learn about what I wanted out of life and truly destroy who I was before and grow into the adult I need to be. I’m still not sure what that looks like, but that’s just part of the adventure. Being able to be at my childhood church has contributed to creating that sense of community.  Where do you go to find that sense of community?

Leave a Reply

